INDE.Awards Return in 2018 with New Categories. Enter Now! -

Follow our Titles!

Cubes Magazine

INDE.Awards Return in 2018 with New Categories. Enter Now!

Design and architecture in Asia Pacific are progressing in response to the region’s needs. So are the INDE.Awards in 2018!

  • INDE.Awards 2017 Pre-Ceremony at Carriageworks, Sydney. Photography: Tim Da Rin

  • Indigo Slam by Smart Design Studio, winner in the INDE.Awards 2017 categories ‘The Building’ and ‘Best of the Best’. Jury Citation: “Exceptionally grand and rich in detail.” Photography: Sharrin Rees

  • Cornwall Gardens by CHANG Architects, winner in the INDE.Awards 2017 category ‘The Living Space’. Jury Citation: “A wonderful blend of nature and architecture.” Photography: Albert Lim KS

  • Humming Puppy by Karen Abernethy Architects, winner in the INDE.Awards 2017 category ‘The Social Space’. Jury Citation: “Human-responsive design at its best.” Photography: Katherine Lu

  • HUP HUP Chair by SKEEHAN Studio, winner in the INDE.Awards 2017 category ‘The Object’. Jury Citation: “A beautifully resolved and thoughtful piece.” Photography: Courtesy of SKEEHAN Studio

  • 500-Strong Audience at the INDE.Awards 2017 Gala Ceremony, Carriageworks, Sydney. Photography: Tim Da Rin

BY Narelle Yabuka

November 17th, 2017

After a successful inaugural edition with over 400 entries from 14 countries across the Asia Pacific region (recap all the action from the INDE.Awards 2017 in our review), the INDE.Awards are growing in scope with the addition of awards for The Multi-Residential BuildingThe Shopping SpaceThe Learning Space, and The Wellness Space.

The new categories address sectors of design with significant and increasing relevance to the Asia Pacific region, enhancing the strength of the INDE.Awards as a barometer of progressive design around APAC.

APAC is living more densely

The Multi-Residential Building category acknowledges the rapid urban growth happening in APAC cities and the need for dense residential developments that cater to human experience as well as market drivers.

We’re shopping in different ways

This year, retail design has been given its own dedicated category with The Shopping Space award, which caters to the shifting ground being seen in the retail sector all around the region. The introduction of The Shopping Space category allows The Social Space category (which will continue from 2017) to focus purely on hospitality/F&B design, which has its own particular set of design currents.

How we learn matters

The Learning Space category pays homage to the progressive work being done regionally in design for education. Approaches to education itself are varied across the region, but leading design work is emerging that is thoroughly worthy of celebration.

There are new ways to wellness

As populations age and lifestyles change around APAC, health and wellness are becoming more critical. The Wellness Space category acknowledges how the spaces in which we seek health and wellness services are changing for the benefit of human experience, and responding to the emergence of new healthcare technologies.

Above: Alice Blackwood, Co-Editor, Indesign magazine (left) and Raj Nandan, CEO, Indesign Media (right) at the INDE.Awards 2017 Gala Ceremony, Carriageworks, Sydney. Photography: Tim Da Rin

Here’s the full list of award categories for 2018:

  • The Building
  • The Multi-Residential Building
  • The Living Space
  • The Work Space
  • The Social Space
  • The Shopping Space
  • The Learning Space
  • The Wellness Space
  • The Design Studio
  • The Influencer
  • The Object
  • Launch Pad
  • The Prodigy (People’s Choice)
  • The Luminary (People’s Choice)

Entries for the INDE.Awards 2018 are now open!

Head to for more details, and to view the category criteria.

Stay tuned for more INDEs news, including details of the 2018 gala – which will be held in Singapore!