Here's how DFA Design for Asia Awards 2017 is Responding to Trends -

Follow our Titles!

Cubes Magazine

Here’s how DFA Design for Asia Awards 2017 is Responding to Trends

Inclusion of retail, workplace and green design categories underscores their increasing importance in the design industry.

  • 2016 winner: Sundew installation by Swarovski

  • 2016 winner: T2 by Herman Miller

  • 2016 winner: Hayashi Department Store


April 11th, 2017

An Asia-centric design awards programme that acknowledges and recognises good design in Asia is now open for global entry.

The DFA Design for Asia Awards, presented by the Hong Kong Design Centre is back this year with an expanded category list that addresses a broader interpretation of design, keeps pace with new design trends, and encourages participation by designers specialising in these segments.

While the DFA Design for Asia Awards continues to cover four major design disciplines – Apparel & Accessory Design, Communication Design, Environmental Design, and Product and Industrial Design – it has expanded its scope with the addition of the following new categories: Marketing Campaigns, Retail and Showroom Spaces, WorkSpaces, Green and Sustainable Spaces, and Event and Stage Design.

With the new additions, designers will compete for honours across a total of 26 categories. Design projects, produced and launched in one or more Asian markets between 1 January 2015 and 31 May 2017, are eligible for submission in any of these categories by the design’s owner or client, the brand’s owner, designer or design consultancy.

A jury composed of world-renowned design professionals and industry experts will assess each entry according to four criteria: Impact in Asia, Overall Excellence, Use of Technology, and Commercial and Societal Success.

The best designs from each of the four disciplines will be honoured with Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit awards. Gold Award winners and outstanding design projects by nomination will be selected as candidates for the Grand and Special Awards.

Submission deadline is 30 June 2017.